Stop calling yourself a blogger; you are not.

Is blogging just about combining some words and putting them on the internet for people to view?
Are you a writer or are you ranting?

I need a chill pill right now, because if I speak, some people will get offended. But then I have to. It is my right, right?

Also read: Writing doesn’t make you a writer

When I first heard the song Lucky You by Eminem, I thought he was being paranoid when he said, …..you clowns that are coming up don’t give an ounce of a motherf””k about the ones who were here before you, that made rap…

Right now, I could buy him a coffee since I feel like we somehow relate.

I subscribed to some few “blogs” in the past week and I literally unsubscribed from all of them moments after reading their posts. The titles are ambiguous, the first paragraphs are sweet, but as you read through the content, you get served with the bitter herbs. The sweetness is all gone and you are left with the writer trying to fix words that join to make sentences and then paragraphs that are just meant to fill the page.

Some go ahead and use emojis to try and portray emotions in their writing. If that is not a diary, my sister it is a poor goddamn composition. You are no writer, leave alone blogger!

What is worse, the links to such blogs are shared widely to every platform with captions like, ..blah blah, feel free to like comment and share blah blah… What is there to be liked? Huh, Talent? Zero. Creativity? A nice try. Fluency? Poor. Direction? None. What you don’t get about writing it is that it is not just about putting together some words that you think make sense. It is not about sketching the ideas on your head and posting them for everyone to see.

Next time, before you consider yourself a writer, take your time and go through what the old guys in the game are doing. You can never be grandmaster without first being an apprentice. Otherwise, your writing will remain as thick as your ears. And you will be a blogger, only to yourself.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. V says:

    I’m not sure that everyone here considers themselves writers? Just people who like to share and make friends? While I write words on my blog, I’d never call myself a writer. I’m not nearly qualified for that. But I dont think there’s anything wrong with writing words and wanting to share and making online connections. I guess if you dont like it you can just move onto the next? So to speak…

    Like

    1. V says:

      Blogs can really be anything you make them – photography, drawing, art, music, emojis… it’s just a space for people to use as they please, no?

      Like

      1. You are right. However, most people will call themselves bloggers when all they write is crap. I know plenty

        Like

  2. Queenie says:

    You replied to this comment.

    Like

Leave a comment