Let’s stop being gray and start being black and white.

My folks have always warned me to walk away from any girl that replies with the words, “same,” after you tell them you love them. But sometimes, long periods of dryspell can make you ignore popular opinion.

Well, a few months back, I interacted with this certain girl called Yvonne. That’s her real name by the way, this time round I had to use a real one. Over the course of the few weeks before I met her, I had tried texting many other girls but they had all shown little interest. So when Yvonne started responding, I was far from thrilled.

My plan was to get as close as possible to her, playing the good guy, make her fall for me, sleep with her and walk away. Never before have I ever been beaten at my own game. Never before.

She was boring, at least compared to the kind of girls I was used to, but since I was so sex-starved, I decided a bad personality wasn’t going to stand in my way. Three months with no sex had made me that. I pushed on and on with her until one day I decided to confess that I love her, “I love you so much,” I said.

“Same,” she shamelessly replied, I then went ahead to ask her to be my girlfriend, and she said she doesn’t mind. And that was how we started dating, we hadn’t met yet, but I had seen a few pictures of her and she was not bad enough for me, or at least since my intentions were never pure.

Over the course of the many weeks we were dating on phone, she confessed to me that she was a virgin, and that I was a very good guy. Using the skills I had acquired over my past few relationships, I managed to convince her to have sex with me on the day we would meet, which was not far from then. She agreed and you will never, ever comprehend the amount of joy I had that my evil was working.

A few weeks before the day we were to meet, Yvonne started talking less and less, her replies got shorter, the already boring chats we had got even more boring for no apparent reason and then one day I woke up to find that she had blocked me. How hard that hit me only I will forever know.

It dawned to me that she had just been playing along and was not really in love with me. My little evil plan had never had hopes of coming to fruition and I was badly beaten at my own game.

However, that experience pumped some sense into my head. She should have been black and white. If she didn’t like me she didn’t have to pretend. She should have told me no instead of being so grey. I should have also told her my true intentions instead of pretending to love her.

Perhaps, it is time we stopped playing pretence. Let’s be black or white and not be in some gray area in between. As for you Yvonne, sorry for being a pretender you can unblock me now. I now have sense.

Follow me on Instagram @kingoro.moffat

Leave a comment